What is February the 17th?

February 17th is the 48th day of the year in the 7th week. It’s a party … err … a state of mind … a way of life, more than a state of mind … it’s a celebration.
The date was chosen arbitrarily, i.e. based on random choice or personal whim, without any reason or system. Perhaps there was one, but it would have been a complicated one, indeed.
This happening aims to bring all our friends and friends of friends and friends of friends of friends and friends of friends of friends of friends of a friend around a single event without religious, political or commercial origin or purpose.

How does it work?

For all those heroes who are drawn to it, here’s how to have a golden February 17: [pointing finger to the camera]
Firstly, there is the mighty theme or “topic”. You can take up the one that we suggest each year – but really there’s no obligation (more info below).
Then obviously this must take place on February the 17th (this is self-evident).
And finally, you just have to call lots and lots of people and start the party!
In the middle of your evening, surrounded by all your buddies, just take the time to realize that at this particular second, a thousand – or million – people are dancing united in the same spirit (and probably wearing the same bunny outfit with emerald flashy accessory … it’s just an example, eh!).
The only rule: she/he who participates in a celebration of February 17th is committed to celebrate the next and the next … until the end of time (NB: no need to mingle your blood with others to sign this pact, though).

What is the origin of February the 17th ? What is it for ?

The choice of February the seventeenth is lost in the briars of history but it seems that this date was chosen by the founding fathers to break the monotony and encourage us – we poor mortals – to find a cure to boredom. Thus was born February 17th.
The plan in the long run is to have an official public holiday on February 17th. The first one without religious, political or commercial connotation. … Or did I already say that?

Am I invited, … really, me … are you serious?

Yes! Our goal is to have the whole world celebrating on February 17th.
Organize your own February 17th with a maximum of people, or check which parties are planned on our forum. And in any case, do promise to each participant to celebrate February 17th next year, and the next, and the next … until the end of time.
February 17th, a CopyLeft festival?

And the topic?

February seventeenth’s topic changes every year. The people who have run this website for several years and who devote their lives to February 17th, choose a mighty topic (announced here on this very website and otherwise telepathically transmitted, around February 10th). But everyone does as she/he wants. If you find a topic more to your taste, go for it!

Wait… I still don’t get it…

Visit the forum or ask your question directly to the gentle missionaries who run this site. They are happy to spread the good word.

  • KIT 17 FÉVRIER

    Make some noise for February 17th
    with t-shirts, stickers,
    hot air balloons... (learn more)

Finalement, c’est quoi le 17 février ?

Le 17 février est le 48ème jour de l’année, dans la 7ème semaine. C’est une fête… humm… un état d’esprit… une manière de vivre plus qu’un état d’esprit… une… c’est une fête.
La date a été choisie arbitrairement, c’est-à-dire sans avoir recours à un quelconque principe logique. Ou peut-être un, mais alors vraiment vraiment compliqué. Cette fête a pour but de réunir tous nos amis et nos amis d’amis et nos amis d’amis d’amis et les amies d’amis d’amies d’amies d’amie autour d’un même évènement sans origine ni but religieux, politique ou commercial.

Comment ça marche ?

Pour tous les héros qui se le sentent, voilà comment obtenir chez vous un 17 février en or ! [pointage de doigt caméra]
Tout d’abord, il y a le thème. Vous pouvez prendre celui qu’on propose mais pas d’obligation (plus d’infos ci-dessous). Ensuite, il faut que ce soit le 17 février (normal). Pour finir, il ne vous reste plus qu’à appeler plein de gens et à envoyer la sauce !
Au milieu de votre soirée, entouré-e de tous vos potes, prenez juste le temps de réaliser qu’à cet instant, un bon millier – voire million – de personnes fait la fiesta avec les mêmes oreilles de lapin vert émeraude que vous (c’est un exemple, hein !).
Une seule règle : celui/celle qui participe à une fête du 17 février s’engage à le fêter à son tour jusqu’à la fin des temps (N.B. : il n’est pas nécessaire de mélanger son sang avec celui des autres pour sceller ce pacte).

Ça vient d’où ? Ça sert à quoi ?

L’origine de la fête du 17 février se perd dans les replis cotonneux de l’Histoire mais il semblerait que cette date fut choisie par les pères fondateurs pour casser la monotonie et nous inciter – nous, pauvres mortels – à y remédier. Ainsi naquît le 17 février.
Le plan à plus ou moins long terme est de faire du 17 février un jour férié. Le premier sans origine religieuse, politique ou commerciale. … Comment ça on l’a déjà dit ?!

Moi aussi je suis invité-e ?

Oui ! C’est l’objectif : faire que la planète entière fête le 17 février.
Organisez votre propre 17 février avec un maximum de monde ou bien tenez-vous au courant des soirées qui s’organisent sur le forum. Et dans tous les cas, faites promettre à chaque participants de fêter le 17 février l’année suivante, et celle d’après, et celle d’encore après, et ce jusqu’à la fin des temps.
Le 17 février, une fête copyleft ?

Et le thème ?

Le thème du 17 février change chaque année. Les personnes qui gèrent ce site et qui dévouent leur vie entière au 17 février choisissent un thème commun (annoncé sur ce site et par télépathie, autour du 10 février). Mais chacun fait comme il veut. Si vous trouvez un thème encore plus barré pour votre 17 février, foncez !

Attends, j’ai pas compris le…

Allez faire un tour sur le forum ou posez directement votre question aux gentils missionnaires qui gèrent ce site. Ils se font un plaisir de diffuser la bonne parole.

  • KIT 17 FÉVRIER

    Faites connaître le 17 février avec
    des t-shirts, des autocollants,
    des montgolfières...
    (en savoir plus)